Alumni News

Upcoming Alumni Events

Thursday, June 18, 2020, Alumni & Friends Dinner at GPhA Convention-CANCELLED

Alumni News

Please submit your alumni news or update your profile information.

Or contact Director of Alumni Services Sarah Bigorowski 

February 2020

Ashana Puri, PhD ’19 received a $10,000 grant to fund her research on the development of transdermal systems of naloxone for treatment of opioid addiction. Sponsored by the American Association of Colleges of Pharmacy (AACP), the New Investigator Award provides start-up funding for the independent research programs of early-career pharmacy faculty.

Natalie John Merrels, PHARM ’15 has been promoted to Clinical Pharmacy Specialist-Critical Care at CarolinaEast Medical Center in New Bern, NC.

December 2019

Joshua Kinsey, PHARM ’05 has been accepted to the National Association of Chain Drug Stores (NACDS) Foundation 2020-2021 Faculty Scholars Program.  This national program only accepts six pharmacy school faculty members per year.  Participants in the Faculty Scholars program will bring their research idea from concept to manuscript over the course of the program.

Nikki Adams Bryant, PHARM ’03, announces the grand opening of her second pharmacy, Adams Family Pharmacy, in Cuthbert, GA. A ribbon cutting ceremony is scheduled for January 10th.

November 2019

Bill Prather, BSPHARM ’70, president of the Georgia Board of Pharmacy, has been appointed to serve on the Georgia Access to Medical Cannabis Commission. The commission will work to create a medical marijuana distribution network across Georgia.

September 2019

Earl Ward, PHARM ’78, recently co-authored a publication (No More Smoking) in the American Medical Group Association Group Practice Journal (July/August 2019). The study highlights drivers and challenges facing comprehensive tobacco treatment programs in health systems.

Jefferson Drug Store & Soda Fountain owned by Jack Greene, BSPHARM ’71 in Oak Ridge, TN, celebrates 75 years in business. Jefferson is now the oldest operating pharmacy and the oldest restaurant in Oak Ridge, having been in business since 1944.

Nikki Adams Bryant, PHARM ’03, was named one of Georgia Trend magazine’s 40 Under 40 for 2019! Her hometown of Preston in rural Webster County had been without a pharmacy for more than 60 years before she opened Adams Family Pharmacy. Earlier this year she opened Preston Family Medicine to provide a prescribing medical professional.

Sharon Sherrer, PHARM ’84, co-owner of Poole’s Pharmacy in Marietta, Ga., will be named Preceptor of the Year by the National Community Pharmacists Association Foundation at their annual meeting in October.

Charity Calhoun, PHARM ’13 married Michael Wagenti on August 10 in Columbus, GA.

Lauren Howell, PHARM ’11 and her husband, David, announced the birth of their son, Chandler David on May 9, 2019.

Nikki Adams Bryant, PHARM ’03 received the 2019 Walt Orenstein Champions for Immunization Award at the 26th Annual Immunize Georgia Conference on September 12. The award honors individuals, public/private agencies or coalitions who demonstrated excellence in providing immunization care which exemplifies the immunization guidelines set forth in the Standards for Child, Adolescent and Adult Immunization Practices.

The Kirk Healing Center for the Homeless in Hinesville, GA will honor State Representative Ron Stephens, BSPHARM ’78 on October 3. Stephens, who represents District 164, will be recognized with The Good Samaritan Award during a presentation event at the Liberty County Performing Arts Center.

August 2019

Dan Buffington, PHARM ’87 was the keynote speaker at Marshall University School of Pharmacy’s White Coat Ceremony in Huntington, WV on August 30th.

After completing two years of residency training specializing in critical care, Lisa Sagardia, PHARM ’17 accepted a job offer at Emory Saint Joseph’s Hospital as their evening Critical Care Clinical Pharmacist.

Mandy Reece PHARM ’01 was selected as Teacher of the Year for the Department of Pharmacy Practice at PCOM Georgia School of Pharmacy.

July 2019

Sera McNutt, PHARM ’17 is now the Psychiatric Clinical Pharmacist at Kingsbrook Jewish Medical Center in Brooklyn, NY.

Mary Cooper, PHARM ’96 has been promoted to National Account Manager at Novo Nordisk.

Nikki Adams Bryant, PHARM ’03 is a finalist for the 2019 Next-Generation Pharmacist® in the entrepreneur category presented by Pharmacy Times and Parata Systems.

June 2019

News from the 2019 Alumni Dinner at GPhA: Bradford Loo, PHARM ’91, received the Alumni Meritorious Service Award, Johnathan Hamrick, PHARM ‘ 10, received the Young Alumni Award and Earl Ward, PHARM ’78, received the Carlton Henderson Award for his contributions to the reputation and enhancement of the pharmaceutical profession in the state of Georgia.

Johnnie Early, BSPHARM ’73, received the Distinguished Alumni Award on May 10, 2019, from the College of Pharmacy.

Ashley London, PHARM ‘ 09 received GPhA’s AEP Outstanding Member of the Year Award at their annual convention.

Joshua Kinsey, PHARM ‘ 05 was the recipient of the Mal T. Anderson Region President of the Year Award at GPhA’s annual convention. 

Tracie Lunde, PHARM ‘ 08 was a general session keynote speaker at GPhA’s convention. She spoke on the role of community pharmacy in a changing healthcare environment. 

Walter Fitzgerald BSPHARM ’79 is now Dean at the Idaho State University College of Pharmacy.

Michelle McCarthy, PHARM ’94 was recently recognized as an AACP Master Preceptor. She is the Pharmacy Education and Graduate Programs Coordinator and the residency program director for the PGY1-Pharmacy residency program at the University of Virginia (UVa) Health System. The program recognizes preceptors for their sustained commitment to excellence in experiential education and professional practice.

April 2019

Lakesha Butler, PHARM ’05 was recently inducted into Phi Kappa Phi National Honor Society as a Distinguished Faculty and is also the co-author of the pharmacy textbook, Patient Communication for Pharmacy.

March 2019

Jasper Drug Store and owner Jack Dunn, BSPHARM ’78 earned the National Community Pharmacists Association’s Innovation Center Excellence (NICE) award for Best Customer Convenience Improvement.  The store now includes a section catering to the needs of babies as well as expectant mothers and also includes a nursing room.

Mandy Reece, PHARM ‘01, was named Outstanding Allied Health Professional by the Greater Hall Chamber of Commerce. The Healthy Hall Awards of Excellence honor those in the local healthcare industry who have impacted the community through excellence in health and wellness.

January 2019

Congratulations to Stephanie White, PHARM ’16, who received an APhA Foundation grant for her proposal on increasing pneumococcal vaccination rates in a rural community.

Janene Marshall, PHARM ’07, has been named Acting Chair of Pharmacy Practice at Chicago State University.

Brian Esters, PHARM ’03, is now Inpatient Pharmacy Supervisor at the James A. Quillen VA in Mountain Home, TN.

Monali Majmudar, PHARM ’98, was named a fellow of APhA Academy of Pharmacy Practice & Management. Majmudar, a provider educator for GlaxoSmithKline’s adult vaccine portfolio, is a champion for immunizing pharmacists everywhere, serving as a mentor and expert resource within Georgia and across the country.

Paul Wolfe,  PHARM ’07, celebrated the grand opening of his pharmacy, Asheville Mountain Pharmacy, on January 10th.

Nikki Bryant, PHARM ’03, owner of Adams Family Pharmacy, has opened Preston Family Medicine in Preston, GA (Webster County). Until now, Webster had been without a healthcare provider for many years.